castledoom.com Forum Index castledoom.com
Castle Doom
 

Avatar Concerns

Click here to go to the original topic


 
       castledoom.com Forum Index -> Castelain's Office
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NibbyCat



Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 3178
Location: Eastern Ohio

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:51 pm    Post subject: Avatar Concerns  

I want to change my avatar, but both of the ones I want are .jpg and way over the size limits. When I convert them to .gifs, quality is lost, and I still can't get either one under 6KB, even though I can squish them under 96x96 pixels.

How much control do you have over the avatar size? Since they're hosted on my own webspace, does it really matter?

If all else fails, does someone have better picture editing tools ~the kitty flops onto her side, looking cute and kittenish, batting her eyelashes at Brf~ and can do the resizing for me? All I have is Paint.

Here are the two in their full size and color:



I really prefer the first one, but it'll be tough to resize without making the kitty rather squat looking.

In case anyone's curious, those are my avatars at a couple of the euchre sites.
Back to top  
Brf



Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 3712
Location: Belvidere, Illinois

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:35 am    Post subject:  

The first one resized down to 96-high and still looks quite nice. I removed a few stray pixels and the white right-hand border. Other than that I had to do nothing special.

The second one can be trimmed down to 100-wide, or 98-wide if you dont want it transparent, without losing any detail. When I tried to make it transparent, it became obvious that it would only look good on a white background....

but you wanted the first more anyway, so here it is:
Back to top  
smilingtraveller
Guest





Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 7:50 pm    Post subject:  

is it okay if I put up an animated avatar on my profile?
Back to top  
Brf
Guest


Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 3712
Location: Belvidere, Illinois

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:16 am    Post subject:  

Why not? Mine is animated....
Back to top  
ExarKun
Guest


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 2273
Location: USA

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 3:11 pm    Post subject:  

LIES!!! The panther doesn't blink it's eyes it'll all in our heads :P
Back to top  
crispybacon
Guest


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 991
Location: Somewhere between the stove and your plate

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:26 pm    Post subject:  

Indeed! It only blinks once we are brainwashed into an addiction to Castle Doom!
________
Friend Advice Forum
Back to top  
NibbyCat
Guest


Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 3178
Location: Eastern Ohio

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:50 pm    Post subject:  

Ever notice that it only blinks when you're not looking at it? If you sit and watch, he stares back at you. But as soon as your gaze slides away... wait, did he blink? Stare, stare, stare... bah, just my... wait, did he blink?
Back to top  
JuntaJoe
Guest


Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 7199
Location: Texas

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:03 pm    Post subject:  

:lol:
Back to top  
crispybacon
Guest


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 991
Location: Somewhere between the stove and your plate

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 12:09 am    Post subject:  

See?! As soon as you realize it blinks, you've spent too much time here already.

Me, I'm here with a more stationary, non-habit-forming flag of Baconania. Regrettably off-center, but I'm too lazy to fix it :( .
________
LOVE ADVICE DICUSSION
Back to top  
 
       castledoom.com Forum Index -> Castelain's Office
Page 1 of 1


phpBB Search Engine Indexer © phpRebel
Powered by phpBB 2.0.21 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group