castledoom.com Forum Index castledoom.com
Castle Doom
 

scratches head

Click here to go to the original topic


 
       castledoom.com Forum Index -> Castelain's Office
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ExarKun



Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 2273
Location: USA

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:15 am    Post subject: scratches head  

What exactly happened? Never seen this place blackout for 3 days.
Back to top  
Brf



Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 3712
Location: Belvidere, Illinois

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:21 am    Post subject:  

MY guess is that a router was out somewhere.
JuntaJoe claimed he could reach the website controlpanel during the outage, while I could not. Also, it took several minutes to connect the first time this morning, both from work and home.... Therefore, I am thinking it was the routing to get to the site, rather than the site itself.
Back to top  
JuntaJoe



Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 7199
Location: Texas

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:30 pm    Post subject:  

We got a response finally:

Quote: SORRY! Really sorry. We had what we believed was a hard drive failure. We tried to fix this in various ways, finally replaced the HDD and finished transferring the domains from Sunday's backup. Just to see the exact same problem reoccuring. Only now, since 30 minutes, are all sites up again. it turned out to be a openSSL problem, a clash with Apache 2 as it is pre-installed by cPanel software. The error, however, was a "segmentation fault" error, which usually indicates a physical problem.
My apologies. Server is finally stable now.
Back to top  
ExarKun



Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 2273
Location: USA

Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject:  

Well it's back up so good enough I guess. Didn't cause major harm to us, just annoying as hell.
Back to top  
 
       castledoom.com Forum Index -> Castelain's Office
Page 1 of 1


phpBB Search Engine Indexer © phpRebel
Powered by phpBB 2.0.21 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group